Working for a Union

When I first graduated from school and was seeking gainful employment, there were many decisions to be made, decisions that would affect the rest of my life, as well as those around me.

As a result I tried several different occupations before I settled on a lifetime career. I worked in a corporate office for a while, but that soon bored me, so I went to a different company and worked on a factory production line. It didn’t take long before I realized that life wasn’t for me either. Longing to be outside more and not wanting to work the graveyard shift for the rest of my life, I soon realized that the part of my day I enjoyed the most was diving back and forth to work.

Thus it became obvious I should seek a job where I would be driving most of the day.

It seems that once one puts his mind to something, it doesn’t take long for the opportunity to present itself. I had a driving job with an excellent company within just a couple of months. I would be working at one of the finest companies in the country, the wages and benefits were the best one could find anywhere.

The only glitch was, I had to join a union.

This came right after a period of time when the area I lived in experienced some of the worst activity a union could ever perform, people were assaulted by union thugs, some even had dynamite thrown into their house or were shot at. Members of my own family  personally experienced some of this firsthand.

I had many reservations about joining a union, and it caused me much concern. Not only did I not approve of their activities, I didn’t want to be involved in anything like that in the future.

After much meditation, I finally decided there was no perfect job, if I wanted to do what I liked, I would have to deal with the adversity. I would make it work to my advantage, not participate in the negativity , and make it work out for the best for myself and family.

If there ever was a strike  there would be no way I would participate in the violence, I would distance my self as far away as possible. It really doesn’t matter what we do in life, or who we work for , or associate with, there are events and circumstances we can’t support or go along with, the world isn’t black and white, there are many shades of gray.

It all worked ut for the best, I learned how to deal with my own issues without involving big brother union , I soon found they were most interested in helping those who should be terminated, they weren’t concerned about me for various obvious reasons,it makes for better press to help people who portray themselves as victims.

All in all, I learned what everyone should learn, you are better off solving your own problems rather then turning them over to someone else. There isn’t anyone who has an interest in your concerns and welfare more than you do.

As with everything in life, the rewards were great, but there are sacrifices, and either way , if you are working for yourself or for someone, you have to look after your own interests.

Gary has been a writer/ photographer for over 20 years, specializing in nature,landscapes and studying native cultures.Besides visiting most of the United States, he has traveled to such places as Egypt,the Canary Islands,much of the Caribbean. He has studied  the Mayan Cultures in Central America, and the Australian Aboriginal way of life.Photography has given him the opportunity to observe life in many different parts of the world!

He has published several books about the various cultures he has observed.

For more information and a link to his hard cover and Ebooks,and contact information: please check his website.www.commonsensejourneys.com

Your comments appreciated

George Koritzer

Wisdom from ages gone past

 


Get 6 Free VitaTops

Leave a Reply

